New Mexico Badlands: Ceja Pelon (the b+w post)

Promontory

Promontory

My final post from the recent NM badlands trip includes the best b&w images from Ceja Pelon.

Of interest to gearheads: More or less by accident (or, perhaps more correctly, by circumstance) I used three different lenses ā€” one for all the photography done at each of the three locations I visited over the long Easter weekend.

At Lybrook overlook it was the Canon 50mm 1.4; at San Jose, I used nothing but the Canon 16-35mm 2.8L; and here at Ceja Pelon, I chose to employ my old standby, the Tamron 28-75mm 2.8.

The results were eye-opening: regardless of the post-processing regime, it is clear to me that the quality of the images taken with the 16-35L series lens was superior in color saturation, dynamic range, and sharpness to that of those taken with either of the other lenses. Given the greater expense of this particular optic, such results may come as no great surprise. Limitations of focal length aside, I am probably going to make this lens my standard landscape carry-around until something better (?) is added to my kit.

I guess you really do get what you pay for ā€” at least in the realm of high quality optics.

Raven's flight

Raven’s flight

The notch

The notch

Approach: white grotto

Approach: white grotto

Inclined platform

Inclined platform

Spill of stone

Spill of stone

Porosity

Porosity

Mad design

Mad design

Dark matter

Dark matter

No easy way

No easy way

Caprocks

Caprocks

The walking tree

The walking tree

Island of stone

Island of stone

The crawling tree

The crawling tree

Where angles meet

Where angles meet

3 thoughts on “New Mexico Badlands: Ceja Pelon (the b+w post)

Leave a Reply

